Endorsement Night

The Marin Women’s Political Action Committee held its Candidates’ Endorsement Night, September 13th, at the San Rafael City Council Chambers. Members voted to endorse the following women in city council races:

Susan Cleveland-Knowles, Sausalito

Barbara Coler and Cindy Swift, Fairfax

Denise Athas, Novato

Holli Thier, Tiburon

Steve Burdo was recommended for the San Anselmo race.

Our organization is dedicated to helping women run successfully for public office. In races where there are more open seats than qualified women, members can vote to recommend a male candidate.

Candidates Training

The Marin Womens’ Political Action Committee presents “The Basics of Running a Winning Campaign, Time Management when you Run and Once You’re Elected, Gaining Endorsements, Web Design and Social Media, Basics of Fundraising and More.”

Lise Stampfli, Graphic Designer, Web and Social Media Developer. August 23, 2017

Brad Breithaupt, Marin IJ. August 23, 2017

Jessica Sloan, Mayor of Mill Valley. August 23, 2017

Dotty leMieux, GreenDog Campaigns. August 23, 2017


Laurie Earp, Earp Events and Fundraising. August 23, 2017


New Members Tea Party — A Fun Time For All!

At our high energy New Members Tea, held on Monday, May 22 at the Falkirk Cultural Center, we honored three very accomplished and dynamic young women office holders. We also welcomed in several new members! Everyone enjoyed a wonderful selection of pasta, salad and diverse appetizers, plus desert, provided for the most part by Program Chair Barbara Matas.

We recognized three young women who have successfully run for office:
Sashi McEntee, Mill Valley City Council
Heather McPhail Sridharan, Kentfield School Board
and Jessica Jackson Sloan, Mayor of Mill Valley

The three women talked about how they got motivated to run for office, the challenges of campaigning, and that they feel they can make a difference in their communities by holding a local office. They stressed the time commitment, and explained how they try to achieve balance between their official duties and, in each case, raising a family.

MWPAC presented each woman with a certificate commending them on their courage to run for office and make a contribution to the enrichment of their communities.

Photo: Left to right: Jessica Jackson Sloan, Heather McPhail Sridharan, and Sashi McEntee display their MWPAC certificates.


MARCH 31, 2017, 11:30 AM – 1:30 PM, at the Club at McInnis

This popular luncheon, hosted by MWPAC to honor elected women public officials, features guest speaker, Libby Schaaf, Mayor of Oakland, as keynote speaker. Kimberly Ellis, former Executive Director of EMERGE and candidate for Chair of the California Democratic Party. Also speaking is Rachel E. Hundley, Mayor of the City if Sonoma.

The luncheon honors young women student leaders from local high schools and colleges.


Remembering Ed Vorous

On Saturday, July 30, Ed Vorous, one of our board members, passed away after a short illness. Anyone who knew Ed knew what a special person he was. He was funny, charmingly frank, and sincere in his beliefs. He loved helping people and he was “on the job” practically 24/7.

Ed was active in several organizations, and we were blessed to be one of them. Ed loved to cook and whipped up meals for many of our special occasions such as our infamous Christmas parties, our candidates’ training sessions, and other events. He found us a venue for events the last few years — the Redwoods Presbyterian Church in Larkspur. We all loved his cookies! Where he found time to do everything, I do not know. He left us much too soon, but he lived life to the fullest and lit up our lives in the meantime. We will miss him terribly.